Unfortunately, car accidents can happen to anyone, regardless of how careful a driver may be. The physical and emotional toll of an accident can be overwhelming under normal circumstances, but the aftermath can become even more complex if you are uninsured. Florida, like many other states, requires drivers to carry auto insurance to protect themselves and others in the event of an accident. Individuals without insurance often wonder what they can do after an accident to recover their losses. While lawsuits for uninsured drivers can be complex, you may still have grounds for legal recourse.
The seasoned attorneys from Wooten, Kimbrough, Damaso & Dennis are well-versed in Florida’s complex car accident laws and are ready to apply their experience and skills to your case. We can help you evaluate your legal options and determine the best path forward after your accident. When you partner with us, your attorney will treat you with respect and advocate for your rights, regardless of your insurance coverage.
Table of Contents
Can I Still Pursue Compensation if I Got Into a Car Accident Without Insurance?
Covering your expenses after an accident can be challenging if you are uninsured. Many individuals without insurance assume they cannot pursue compensation, even if they are not at fault. While you may be unable to file a claim through Florida’s no-fault insurance system, you may still have grounds to sue the negligent driver for damages if your injuries are serious. Under Florida Law, serious injuries are defined as ones that result in permanent disability, disfigurement, or loss of bodily function. You may also have a case if you are pursuing a claim on behalf of a loved one killed in the accident.
The legal process can be an uphill battle for uninsured accident victims, making it critical to have an experienced attorney on your side. At Wooten, Kimbrough, Damaso & Dennis, our attorneys understand what it takes to win a case involving an uninsured driver. We will work tirelessly to protect your rights and ensure your lack of coverage isn’t held against you in court.
What Are Florida’s Minimum Insurance Requirements?
All drivers in Florida are required by law to carry car insurance, which may have legal consequences, including expensive fines and the suspension of your driver’s license. To meet the minimum insurance requirement, you must have a policy that covers the following:
- At least $10,000 in Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
- At least $10,000 in Property Damage Liability (PDL)
After being involved in an accident, purchasing car insurance as soon as possible is vital. Although buying insurance after a car accident can impact your premiums, having it can ensure you comply with the law and are financially protected in the event of a future accident.
Speak With a Highly-Qualified Car Accident Attorney at Wooten, Kimbrough, Damaso & Dennis
If you were injured in a car accident while uninsured, a trusted car accident attorney can help you fight for your right to compensation. At Wooten, Kimbrough, Damaso & Dennis, our attorneys have an established track record of achieving favorable outcomes for car accident victims without insurance and are ready to apply their extensive experience to your unique case. We understand your challenges and can handle every aspect of your claim as you recover from your injuries.
Medical bills and other accident-related expenses can quickly overwhelm victims and their families. The stakes are too high to fight for justice alone. To schedule a free consultation with one of our seasoned attorneys, call us at (407) 843-7060 or complete our contact form today.